Wednesday, 28 November 2007

Humourless Stephen Green.

A funny Youtube of Ed Byrne making a very good point about Christian Voice's website ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r5f_eQcc-wk

Well Well Well.

Well. My hunch would appear to be completely wrong.

The Surname Green does not crop up at 105 Ditton Hill. Another name does though. Greaves.

The Electoral Register search has come back and although this is an old set of electoral rolls, admittedly, probably from 2002, it does reveal a different surname. Whether this is just a mail forwarding address, or whether those that live at the address are in some way involved with CV is another matter, and one we may never know the answer to....

But here are the entries on the roll :-

MR ROBERT A GREAVES, 105 DITTON HILL
MRS MARGARET C GREAVES, 105 DITTON HILL
MRS SARAH A GREAVES, 105 DITTON HILL

So far, a google through all the documents on the old REPENTUK.com site reveales no surname Greaves. So... Possibly a dead end? Fun whilst it lasted! So perhaps we've found our first actual Christian Voice members, or perhaps we haven't. It looks like 105 DITTON HILL is a residential address (Google Maps), so it's a bit puzzling why non Christian Voice supporters would let their address be used by such an organisation. But ... Who can say.... ?

Thursday, 22 November 2007

A bit of oddness in the meantime.

(Thanks for the link http://www.freethinker.co.uk/ to this blog. Hopefully some others will start doing some digging on our behalf. That'd be fantastic.)

I've been looking through some Christian Voice Newsletters. I will put the original links here, together with quoted bits and/or google cache links (to just be on the safe side, make sure they can't be conveniently deleted)..... Anyway... Whilst going through some of them, amongst all the hate they seem to propagate, I spotted a little bit of an anomaly...

First take a look at this :-

http://www.repentuk.com/Newsletters/April03/From%20Our%20Readers.htm

(google cache non existant.. bugger.. anyway the important bit was :

"From Sue Malin Watching the televised battle between Iraqi soldiers and US Marines in Umm Qasr, it struck me how de-humanised and numbed I had become. Exposure to “war films” helps us to forget that these are real men who could lose their lives at any moment. I also realised how easy we have it in the West. The men of Umm Qasr were ready to take on the might of the US armed forces for what they believed in, and were prepared to die for their beliefs. How many of us as Christians are ready to die for what we believe in, to be counted on the side of Jesus Christ and Him crucified? We’re threatened with the removal of hot cross buns from schools for fear of offending others, with lessons on homosexuality instead, and with the removal of Easter as a public holiday. If the “powers that be” try to outlaw the Christian church, will we just sit back in our armchairs, or be willing to face imprisonment? Perhaps we are simply too comfortable, and the adherents of the false religion of Islam put to shame those who profess to be Christians. "

The important bit was the bit I put in bold. Note that this is from a READER apparently. One Sue Malin. Just an ordinary reader of CV's newsletter - possibly one of many? Who knows.

Oh wait, I know.... Guess what Sue Malin also is/was :

http://www.repentuk.com/Newsletters/November01/New%20Appointments.htm

And I quote :

"Mrs Sue Malin has become our new Membership Secretary, generously offering her time to the Lord’s service in this vital task. Sue will be responsible for contacting members, collecting subscriptions, hearing concerns andk eeping our members’ database in order. "

Goodness, that has all that hallmarks of certain recent telephone scandals... Members of staff entering their own competitions etc? We're led to believe that Christian Voice represents lots of people, and yet they choose to publish a staffer's letter rather than one of the hundreds they must receive from non staffers? Odd. Odd indeed. Most odd. And dare I say it, even a tiny weeny bit dishonest?

Just to clarify the chronology there, in Nov 01 the lady became Membership Secretary, and in April 03 she appeared on the letters page... Perhaps she resigned in between?

And still this begs the question : Membership of what? And "New Appointments"... Are they employees? Employees of what entity or person? All this lingo seems to be designed to give an appearance of 'bigness'.

Next thing to do, I think, is go through some newsletters and see what other names and addresses we can pull out. Fun fun fun.

Wednesday, 21 November 2007

That PO Box...

Well well well.

The Post Office box on the Christian Voice website (PO Box 739A, Surbiton, KT6 5YA) does redirect to another address. Whilst it would have been hilarious to find it led back to the Carmarthen address given for Mr Green, it didn't. Instead Royal Mail informed our enquirer that it mapped back to :- 105 Ditton Hill, Surbiton, KT6 5EJ.

Let's see if we can find any names associated with 105 Ditton Hill, shall we?

A quick google for "105 Ditton Hill" brings only one link back :

http://www.repentuk.com/Newsletters/November01/Lamplight%20Bible%20Plan.htm

(google cache version here)

http://216.239.59.104/search?q=cache:GsD33sFDA4MJ:www.repentuk.com/Newsletters/November01/Lamplight%2520Bible%2520Plan.htm+%22105+ditton+hill%22&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=1&gl=uk

and who should have written this article? None other than Mr Stephen Green.

Which brings us back to the question :

IS THERE ANYBODY ELSE IN CHRISTIAN VOICE THAN STEPHEN GREEN?

Next stop, look at the old electoral rolls for that address, and see who lives there and if their surname is Green....

Why I have set this blog up.

A bit of background: Christian Voice made their name by trying to get Jerry Springer:The Opera banned from theatres around the country. Furthermore, when a charity received donations from the JS:TO, Christan Voice piled on negative press and forced the charity to give the money back. So a charity, doing good, was forced to give back a donation, thanks to CV's bullying tactics.

Although I am a non believer, I do not seek to deny anybody his or her right to practice his or her religion within the privacy of their own home. The only time any religion annoys me is when they try and step on the toes of either other religions, or the toes of non believers such as myself.

Stephen Green and/or Christian Voice is guilty of this 'treading on toes'. There is no more straight forward way of putting it. Repeatedly Christian Voice have attempted to incite action against activities that the right thinking majority deem 'acceptable' or even 'good'. The man himself is described as "National Director", on Christian Voice's website at www.christianvoice.org.uk.

Yet when we look at Companies House (which would list all incorporated entities) there are two companies listed, one, company number 03194526 is called Christian Voice Limited, and one (03194521) called Christian Voice International Limited. Stephen Green is not listed as a director of either. In fact, I am unconvinced they are anything to do with him.

A director's search of anyone called "Stephen Green" in the SA33 postcode reveals nothing either.

So is Christian Voice a registered Charity then, but not incorporated?

Let's have a look at the Charities Commission's register...

A search for "Christian Voice" brings back "No Charities Found".

So WHAT EXACTLY IS CHRISTAN VOICE?

How many people does it really represent?

Is Stephen Green hiding behind a non existant entity?

You might ask why this lack of information bothers me. And that would be a fair question. Some readers might even not consider Green to be the harmful individual that I do, and would question why I would even care what he gets up to.

Well, registered companies, and registered charities are, above all else accountable. That means that certain bits of information are available to the public for perusal; like for example income statements, accounts, details of the directors who run them. Nothing of this is available for Christan Voice in the public domain. Anybody of sound mind should find this at least 'eyebrow raising' and even downright suspicious.

Christian Voice's published address is a PO box, not a real address, and although it looks as though Stephen Green's home address is on the site, we have (as yet) been unable to check this out for certain. It would be interesting to find out where the mail sent to the PO box ends up...

So it's possible that : 1. Christian Voice is NOT a charity. and 2. It isn't even a company. If it isn't a charity, then why on their Membership Form does it ask for a "donation" in addition to a £20 membership fee? Can a non charity even really ask for a donation?

We will investigate what is going on behind the scenes at CV, what type of organisation it really is, and see if we can find any members of staff or management apart from the PR noisy Stephen Green.

Keep an eye on this blog.